A New Day

Feet on my desk, staring blankly at the screen. An aged holoreel playing a selection of my favourite movies. I sigh and switch it off. I never liked this.

“Your Buzzard will self-destruct in 2 Minutes.”
I shiver, not wanting to wait for the inevitable bang.

“Your Buzzard will self-destruct in 1 minute 30 seconds.”
Ninety seconds to the end of this life. It’s been fun, and my crew were evacuated with the tower and AC-AF capsuleers…
Proximity alerts begin to wail, I look up with a start. A single Sleeper drone begins circling my vessel, fire streaming behind it as though it were a flaming comet caught in the gravitational pull of a planet.

“Your Buzzard will self-destruct in 1 minute.”
The drone stops and turns toward my vessel, data noise pouring over my comms system, the keening of an injured animal, “I’m sorry, but I have no weapons on my ship,” I say quietly. The noise increasing as it approaches me slowly, shield systems alerting me of the massive heat pouring off the dying drone.

“Your Buzzard will self-destruct in 30 seconds.”
“Here’s to the next life.” I raise my glass and take a sip, no point in seeing these fine Amarri spirits go to waste. The Sleeper drone hovering barely a meter from the hull of my Covert Ops.

“Your Buzzard will self-destruct in 5 seconds.”
The front end of the Sleeper begins to split, the light from inside the drone coming through my view screen. Pure, brilliant white light. I feel a sense of peace come over me, an image slowly forming within the brightness. A vision coming to me, knowledge unknown to me, my life passing before my eyes. Clarity…

I gasp and sit bolt upright, choking and spluttering as my oesophagus purges itself of ambiotic clone fluid.
A new life, a new day. This new dawn brings about a new drive.

2 Responses to “A New Day”

  1. wonderul post… love it!!

    hope to see u in mine… & plz post your comments….

    thank you..

    i’ll be in touch….

    • Thank you, sorry I was late in accepting and replying, but your comment got lost in internet limbo.
      I’ll take a look at your blog and maybe add you to my blog roll. 🙂

Leave a Reply

